Sunday, May 4th, 2025    /    12 Kilometers (7.46 Miles)    /    Spokane, Washington    /    49th Running

Register for Bloomsday

A race for everyone. From the spirited 12K to family-friendly strolls:

Bloomsday Logo Mega Menu


Bloomsday Corporate Cup 2024 Logo

Corporate Cup

Junior Bloomsday Logo

Junior Bloomsday

Spokane Bloomsday Marmot March Logo

Marmot March

Bloomsday Results

Congradulations all participants! View your results by clicking below:

Our Community

Lilac Bloomsday Association’s mission statement: To promote national and international sports competition and fitness education for the civic betterment, social improvement, and physical well-being of the general public.


Jul 8, 2016

Limo, Langat to Compete at Boilermaker 15K Sunday


July 8, 2016—Bloomsday champions Cynthia Limo and Philip Langat are headed to Utica, New York, for the PRRO Championship this coming Sunday, July 10th. The Championship, which is hosted by the Boilermaker 15K again this year, features the male and female champions of the five events that were part of the 2015-16 PRRO Circuit of major US road races, which included Bloomsday. Top State of Washington finishers from this year’s Bloomsday—Emma Polley and Greg Leak—will also toe the line in Utica.

Cynthia Limo

Cynthia Limo crosses the line to win her second consecutive Bloomsday Run on May 1.

The PRRO Circuit showcases world class competition at 5 prestigious road race events shorter than the marathon distance, with $400,000 in prize money and bonuses. The 39th Boilermaker Road Race hosts the 21st PRRO Championship and offers more than $60,000 in prize money plus the PRRO Super Bonus and PRRO Event Champion’s Bonus.


The PRRO Super Bonus offers $10,000 for a 2015-16 PRRO event champion(s) who also wins the PRRO Championship crown (bonus is split if eligible male and female win the PRRO title in the same year), while the PRRO Event Champion’s Bonus is $1500 awarded to current series event champions – see list below – who also place in the top 10 at the PRRO Championship. Both Limo and Langat are eligible for the bonuses, as well as the Boilermaker prize money.


If the male or female winners of the PRRO Championship have not won any 2015-16 circuit event, they will win $2500 each as the PRRO Circuit champions in addition to the prize money offered by the PRRO Championship event.


“The PRRO Championship presented by Boilermaker promises to be a really outstanding race. Boilermaker always enjoys high-level competition, but with the champions of almost every PRRO Circuit event planning to be there, this should be an especially competitive year,” said Don Kardong, PRRO Circuit President.


Last year, Boilermaker also hosted the PRRO Championship and Kenyans Eliud Ngetich and Mary Wacera won the titles in 43:31 and 48:49, respectively, plus $7000 each as race champion. Wacera, the 2014 Bloomsday champion, also earned an extra $15,000 in bonus monies ($10,000 PRRO Circuit Purse and a PRRO “Bump-Up Bonus” of $5000).


With their 2015-16 Circuit wins, 6 of 9 eligible athletes below—except Tyler Pennel who is injured, and Sam Chelanga and Bedan Karoki, who are hoping to qualify for the Rio Olympics—are expected at Boilermaker to chase after PRRO Championship bonus money.


PRRO Circuit 2015-16

Boilermaker 15K: The PRRO Championship, July 12, 2015, Utica, NY

Eliud Ngetich, Kenya, 43:31

Mary Wacera, Kenya, 48:49


EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler, Oct. 25, 2015, Pittsburgh, PA

Tyler Pennel, USA, 46:50, course record

Buze Diriba, Ethiopia, 52:55, course record


World’s Best 10K, Feb. 28, 2016, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Bedan Karoki, Kenya, 27:42

Mary Wacera, Kenya, 31:49


Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2016, Washington, DC

Sam Chelanga, USA, 48:26

Veronica Nyaruai Wanjiru, Kenya, 53:12


40th Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2016, Spokane, WA

Philip Langat, Kenya, 34:26

Cynthia Limo, Kenya, 38:03, course record

The World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico on Feb. 28 opened the 2016 PRRO racing season with world leading wins by Kenyans Bedan Karoki and Mary Wacera in 27 minutes, 42 seconds and 31:49, respectively. The 44th Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile in Washington, DC on April 3 was the next PRRO stop, and on a cold, windy day, Sam Chelanga (USA) and Veronica Nyaruai Wanjiru (KEN) took home the titles in 48:26 and 53:12, respectively. Chelanga was the first American male champion at the storied event since 1990.


The Lilac Bloomsday Run on Sunday, May 1 was the fourth 2015-16 Circuit stop and the final stop before the PRRO Championship. The 40th edition of the classic 12K road race offered $81,000 in prize money. Philip Langat (KEN) won the men’s race in 34:22, while Cynthia Limo (KEN) defended her title, clocking a course record 38:03, the #3 women’s all-time 12K road performance.


To-date, PRRO Circuit events have produced 18 world and 17 U.S. road records, awarded more than $6.8 million in prize money and seen more than 2.3 million runners cross their finish lines. Since 1996, the PRRO Championship race has paid out more than $1.6 million.


The PRRO Circuit, a long-time pioneer and champion of a clean sport, has funded drug testing at its events since 2006. During the 2014-15 season, USADA conducted more than 50 in-competition tests and an undisclosed number of pre-competition tests.


PRRO Championship and Circuit Year

The PRRO Circuit rotates among the five PRRO Circuit races, with the Circuit Year starting and finishing at the same event. The event will serve as a PRRO Championship qualifier the first time it is held and will also host the PRRO Circuit Championship the second time it is held.


The 2016-17 PRRO Circuit will begin with the EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler on November 6, 2016 and will conclude with the EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler on October 29, 2017.


Visit for more information on the PRRO Circuit.


# # #

All Bloomsday News

Use link below to return to all the news articles:

Sign Up for News
and Alerts