Sunday, May 4th, 2025    /    12 Kilometers (7.46 Miles)    /    Spokane, Washington    /    49th Running

Register for Bloomsday

A race for everyone. From the spirited 12K to family-friendly strolls:

Bloomsday Logo Mega Menu


Bloomsday Corporate Cup 2024 Logo

Corporate Cup

Junior Bloomsday Logo

Junior Bloomsday

Spokane Bloomsday Marmot March Logo

Marmot March

Bloomsday Results

Congradulations all participants! View your results by clicking below:

Our Community

Lilac Bloomsday Association’s mission statement: To promote national and international sports competition and fitness education for the civic betterment, social improvement, and physical well-being of the general public.

Bloomsday champion Chepkurui wins $17,500 share of PRRO Circuit Bonus

Jul 4, 2009

Atlanta, GA—Sammy Kitwara and Lineth Chepkurui were first across the line at The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race on July 4. In doing so, they each claimed not only the first place Peachtree prize of $15,000, but also half of the $35,000 Professional Road Racing Organization Circuit Bonus resulting in an additional payment of $17,500. The PRRO Circuit Bonus is awarded to any athlete who wins one of the four PRRO circuit events plus the PRRO Championship at Peachtree. Kitwara became eligible to compete for the bonus by winning the World’s Best 10K on March 1, 2009 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Chepkurui won both the Credit Union Cherry Blossom and Lilac Bloomsday Run, either of which would have qualified her to compete for the bonus.


The PRRO payouts to Kitwara and Chepkurui were the first in PRRO Circuit history. Under Circuit rules, the bonus for the 2009-2010 series will restart at $10,000, and grow by $5,000 per year for each season it goes unclaimed. Athletes become eligible by winning one of the first four PRRO Circuit races. First opportunity to become eligible for the 2009-2010 PRRO Circuit Bonus will be this weekend in Utica, New York at the 32nd annual Utica Boilermaker 15K. The Boilermaker, scheduled for Sunday, July 12, is the inaugural event of the 2009-2010 PRRO Circuit.


“The male and female champions at Boilermaker will not only win the first place Boilermaker prize,” said PRRO President Don Kardong. “They’ll also put themselves in the hunt for the Circuit Purse at The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race next year.”


Tracey Russell, Director of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race, added, “It’s great to have several athletes vying for the Circuit Bonus at Peachtree like we did this year. It adds another dimension to competition at Peachtree and makes for an exciting finale to the 2009-2010 PRRO Championship Season.”


Boilermaker race director Jim Stasaitis is equally enthusiastic. “We’re proud to be the inaugural event of each PRRO Championship Circuit season,” he said. “And we hope athletes take advantage of the opportunity to get a leg up on other runners in earning the PRRO Circuit Bonus.”


The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition for athletes of all nations in events at less than the marathon distance. The circuit has shown its commitment to a drug-free sport by funding mandatory drug testing for elite athletes at all the PRRO Circuit events. The testing is carried out by the United States Anti-Doping Agency.


A summary of results from the 2008-2009 PRRO Circuit and contacts for the 2009-2010 series appear below.


2008-2009 Events and Results:


Boilermaker 15K, July 13, 2008, Utica, NY. Men’s winner: Terefe Maregu, Ethiopia, 44:17. Women’s winner: Ashu Rabo Kasim, Ethiopia, 50:39


World’s Best 10K, March 1, 2009, San Juan, Puerto Rico. Men’s winner: Sammy Kitwara, Kenya, 27:26. Women’s winner: Vivian Cheruiyot, Kenya, 31:12


Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 5, 2009, Washington, DC. Men’s winner: Riduoane Harroufi, Morocco, 45:56.Women’s winner: Lineth Chepkurui, Kenya, 53:32.


Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 3, 2009, Spokane, WA. Men’s winner: John Yuda, Tanzania, 34:36. Women’s winner: LinethChepkurui, Kenya, 38:37.


The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race (2008-2009 PRRO Championship), July 4, 2009, Atlanta, GA.Men’s winner: Sammy Kitwara, Kenya, 27:21. Women’s winner: Lineth Chepkurui, Kenya, 31:30.


2009-2010 Events:


Boilermaker 15K, July 12, 2009, Utica, NY. $45,500 in prize money with $6,000 for 1st. Elite athlete contact: Dick Mattia, 315-732-1949


World’s Best 10K, February 28, 2010, San Juan, Puerto Rico. Over $600,000 in prize money and bonuses. $25,000 for 1st. Elite athlete contact: Rafael Acosta, 787-767-2000.


Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 11, 2010, Washington, DC. $40,000 in prize money and bonuses. $7,500 for first. Elite athlete contact: Bill Orr, 863-533-0654.


Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 2, 2010, Spokane, WA. Over $80,000 in prize money. $7,000 for 1st. Elite athlete contact: Jon Neill, 509-747-0101


The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race (2009-2010 PRRO Championship), July 4, 2010, Atlanta, GA.Over $80,000 in prize money. $15,000 for 1st. $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus for eligible runners. Elite athlete contact: Elizabeth Unislawski, 404-231-9064 x11.


# # #

All Bloomsday News

Use link below to return to all the news articles:

Sign Up for News
and Alerts