• Sunday, May 5, 2024
  • 12 Kilometers (7.46 miles)
  • Spokane, Washington
  • 48th Running

Red Hot Mamas repeat as crowd favorites; Dusty Klink, PF Flyer 2nd & 3rd in voting

Monday, May 9, 2005

Spokane, WA—Best Bloomsday Entertainers competition is only in its second year, but already the Red Hot Mamas are staking a claim as the Kenyans of on-course entertainment, as the female performing troupe won their second straight title with a whopping 30% of the 739 votes cast. Country music band Dusty Klink finished second, with Classic Rockers PF Flyer in third, the same order of finish as a year ago.


"We had more performers on the course this year than ever before and over double the number of votes cast," said Bloomsday Board Member Dori Robertson, who organized the competition. "But in the end the Red Hot Mamas proved once again to be the crowd favorite."


Twenty-five different groups or individual performers participated as official Bloomsday entertainers along the 7-1/2 mile route. Besides the Red Hot Mamas, Dusty Klink and PF Flyer, performers who earned votes included Kuhai Halau (Hula Dancers), Foreign DNA (Rock), Accordion Joe, Red Eye Express (Country Rock, Blues, Light Rock), Wayne and Marian’s Good Ol’ Stuff (Oldies), The Price of Being (Metal), Buddhafoot (Pop/Adult Contemporary), Oneighty’s Step One (Youth Dance Team), Meter 12 (Modern Rock), Rhythm Envy (Plastic Bucket Drum Corps), No Such Luck (Alternative), Entertainment Dance and Baton Co., The Quick and the Dead & The Valley Point Praise Team (Christian), Willoughby (Funk/Rock), Sisters of Selket (Belly Dancers), Stranglers of Bombay (Classic Rock), Audioburn (Modern & Classic), Fast Recovery (Original & Classic Rock), Gary Van Show (50’s, 60’s, Elvis, Rock & Country), Bluegrass Conspiracy (Bluegrass, Country, Folk), Yesterday’s Cake (Classic Rock), and Last Chance (Rock-Power Trio).


The top three bands in this year's Best Bloomsday Entertainers contest will receive prize money of $500, $300, and $150. In addition, Bloomsday souvenir gear was awarded to Severyn Westbrook, Kevin Riley, and Vicki Witt, whose names were selected in a random drawing among those who cast votes.

# # #